Anime and Gender Norms

What I’ve noticed throughout the few months of being into the anime scene is that it is highly judgmental if you’re male or female when watching certain anime.

Although, I do love that anime has recently become more gender neutral over the past few months as I have gotten deeper into the fandoms.

Attack on Titan, for example, showcases situations that females would normally be the “damsel in distress” but they put everyone at risk for death, not just females. Noragami also caters to a gender neutral audience. It’s just when you get into the anime’s that feature women with abnormally large busts, yaoi and yuri that are obviously catered to a specific audience in mind.

What I would like to see in the future is less about the gender of the viewer and more of why that person decides to watch a certain anime. I watched Attack on Titan and Noragami because of the recommendation of my roommate but I only kept watching it because I was interested in the content presented.

Leave a Reply

