My Daily Dose of Fan Fiction

My mornings consist of me doing several things: checking my email, brushing my teeth, and making coffee.  Now why would I check my email first?

My alarm went off at 7 am this morning, two hours before the start of my first class. When I checked my mailbox, these types emails wake me up faster than any cup of coffee ever could. Fanfic Notification

I’m not looking to see if a restaurant sent me a coupon. I am also not looking to see if my significant other sent me a cute message (we have texting for that now anyway). What I am looking for is to see if one of the 50 fan fictions I follow updated while I was sleeping.

Fan fiction is a work of fiction from a fandom usually written by unpublished, non-professional authors (the fans!). They host these stories on sites such as Archive of Our Own (AO3) for people to read and indulge in fantasies that is not present in the actual series. Most stories focus on couple pairings in AU’s (Alternate Universe) but also have canon verse, which is a universe that is the same as the series, but a different story line takes place. I read stories from the Attack on Titan fandom exclusively and sites such as AO3 give you advance search options to sort through fandoms, pairings, ratings, and much more.

Fan Fic NotificationOne of my favorites that I am reading right now is called “The Intern” by Lutte. It is a multi-chapter story that hosts the Attack on Titan characters in a modern AU and the main pairing is Ereri (Eren Jaeger and Levi; it’s also the most popular pairing in the series). It’s about Eren having an internship at “The Survey Corporation” and how one ride in the elevator of his apartment complex changed his life forever. Most AU’s have important names and places from the series uniquely worked in each story.

Do you read fan fiction? What is your favorite at the moment?
Leave a Reply

