The Reality of Being Obsessed With Anime

Okay, so maybe It should be “an anime”

This weekend is the weekend of my grandmother’s funeral. Now, before you throw out all the “I’m sorry for your loss” lines, let me tell you why I am dealing with situation better than how I handled my grandfather’s passing. The answer is simple: Attack on Titan.

Attack On Titan character posterNow most of you may or may not have heard about the most popular new anime of 2013, but if you haven’t, let me give you a quick synopsis of what this anime is like. Shingeki No Kyojin, or in English, Attack on Titan, is a Japanese manga written and drawn by Hajime Isayama. It’s set in world where humans live in cities surrounded by 50 meter (approximately 164 ft)  walls to protect them from titans, which are giant human-like creatures who consume humans for no obvious reason. The story follows 15-year-olds Eren Jaeger, Mikasa Ackerman, Armin Arlert and a host of other teenagers who join the military in effort to defeat the titans and protect the citizens, depending on what branch each cadet chooses.

The story line is deeper than just that, but I would hate to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t seen it (in which I highly recommend, but my full review of the anime will be at a later date)

Now how can a violent, bloody, and adrenaline rush filled anime bring comfort to me at a time like this? The answer to that is in the characters. They experience human loss at an alarming rate. They don’t have time to mourn, but when they do, they turn it into motivation to do better; to be a better person in honor of fallen comrades. That’s what I’m doing with this situation. I may have a few days to mourn, but school isn’t going to wait for me forever for me to get over it. I’m using this as motivation to make my grandmother proud of me in everything I do in honor of her.

Photo Credit
Leave a Reply

